Celebrating 30 Years of CSGW

The sun shone on a celebration marking 30 years of Crime Stoppers Guelph Wellington.

The day started with a flag raising in front of the Mount Forest Museum and Archives.

Attendees included CSGW Board members, past Board members, government representatives, local supporters, police and fire service representatives as well as members of the public.

The flag will remain on the flag pole for a month, marking the special anniversary.

Those gathered then moved to Murphy’s Park in Mount Forest, Township of Wellington North. There, speeches were offered by a number of dignitaries.

Marlene Coughlin, head of the 30th Anniversary Committee and long-term Board member, brought greetings on behalf of the Board of Directors, and outlined the need to celebrate the milestone.

The event was well attended, with even more guests joining in for the free barbecue and cake offered following the speeches.

Dennis Lever, Warden of the County of Wellington, brought greetings and shared insights on Crime Stoppers. Media partners were also well represented.


Even the youngest attendees respectfully listened to the various addresses.

Staff Sgt Bruce Aitken brought greetings on behalf of Wellington County OPP, one of the two police partners supporting CSGW, along with Guelph Police Service.

Wellington North Fire Service Chief Dave Guilbault brings greetings from the local fire service. WNFS was the first in the County of Wellington to install CSGW decals on its trucks. Fire Chief Guilbault also served for a time on the Board of Directors.

Perth Wellington MP John Nater presented a celebratory certificate to CSGW Vice Chair Deryck West.

Deryck West then received a certificate from Lori Folkerson, Constituency Coordinator for Guelph MPP Mike Schreiner.

Some of the individuals responsible for creating CSGW were recognized for their contributions. Here, from left, Paul Truex, Dick Stewart and Mike Blythe were presented with tokens of appreciation by CSGW Board member John Svensson, and named as Honorary Lifetime Members. A number of members unable to attend the event, will also receive this recognition. 

A special message from Crime Stoppers founder Greg McAleese was read by Program Coordinator Sarah Bowers-Peter. She also indicated that the 20,000th tip had been received by the program within a week of the 30th anniversary.

Next, it was time for the food and celebration, complete with balloons for the younger guests. Office Coordinator Leesa Keleher hands out the CSGW balloons.

Hamburgers and hot dogs were offered, in addition to a special cake.

Here Marlene Coughlin and Leesa Keleher slice the celebratory cake. It was a hit with guests of all ages.

The archives were a source of interest for past Board members, in addition to the five OACS awards that were on display.

The photo area of the event was well enjoyed! Here Jaylin, Hayley and Taylor demonstrate their CSGW pride!

The event was also were the winners of the Where In Wellington Is Crime Stoppers contest were announced. Here Sherry Campbell of Mount Forest accepts her prize from Sarah Bowers-Peter. Adam Olivero and Cari Greulich Whitelaw were also drawn as winners.

The Board of Directors would like to thank all who attended the event and help them Celebrate 30 years of Crime Stoppers Guelph Wellington. 

Help CSGW by sharing this: